Appendix B: Capital Plan Governance Structure

San Francisco’s Ten-Year Capital Plan Governance Structure 

In August 2005, concerns from city leaders, citizens, Mayor Newsom, and the Board of Supervisors culminated in Administrative Code Sections 3.20 and 3.21 requiring the City to annually develop and adopt a ten-year constrained capital expenditure plan for city-owned facilities and infrastructure. The code ensures the Plan’s relevance by requiring that all capital expenditures be reviewed in light of the adopted capital expenditure plan. 

The Capital Planning Committee (CPC) approves the Capital Plan and makes recommendations to the Board of Supervisors on all of the City’s capital expenditures. It consists of the City Administrator as chair, the President of the Board of Supervisors, the Mayor’s Finance Director, the Controller, the City Planning Director, the Public Works Director, the Airport Director, the Municipal Transportation Agency Executive Director, the Public Utilities Commission General Manager, the Recreation and Parks Department General Manager, and the Port of San Francisco Executive Director. The mission of the Capital Planning Committee is to review the proposed capital expenditure plan and to monitor the City’s ongoing compliance with the final adopted capital plan.

back to top